Asking the Right Questions

Many times, we are unhappy that we don’t have the right answers. But the question we need to ask ourselves is:

Are we asking the right questions?

When we don’t know what to do, we are stuck. The best solution to becoming unstuck is to ask the right questions.

Why asking the right questions is important

  1. Prods you Towards Action

Asking the right questions helps you take action. Thomas Edison, one of the most famous innovators said: I have not failed 10,000 times. I have found 10,000 ways that don’t work.

So when he encountered failure, he surely did not ask himself ” Why did this fail?” He probably asked himself- “As this is method #X that does not work, what should I do next to fix this problem”.

While there can really be no good answer to question 1, question 2 will lead you to good answers and corrective solutions.

2. Gives you Perspective

When something unpleasant happens, the tendency for most of us is to get into self pity mode. We tend to ask ourselves “Why me?”. And the answers to this question are generally not pleasant. The answers can range from statements like ” I am just not lucky”, “It always happens with me” I shouldn’t even bother” etc. which will lead you down a negative spiral.

Instead, change your question. How about ” Now that this has happened, what do I still have I can be grateful for?”. For instance if you lost your job, asking yourself, why you were laid off will give you an unproductive answer. However, asking the question- “Now, I don’t have to be part of the rat race, how can I utilize the time for bigger and better opportunities?”, is a very productive question. Productive questions are those that provide you answers that change your perspective and prod you towards action.

Asking the right questions gives you the correct perspective. It makes you realize that the problem you are in is the not the end of the world. There are opportunities hidden there. And this problem may well turn out to be best opportunity you have.

3.Helps you Achieve the Desired Results

When you are faced with a huge task or achieving a fairly complex goal, asking the right question at each step helps you move forward at a faster pace and achieve your results.

Break down your goal in to smaller tasks and simply keep reapeating this question as your mantra:

“What is the next thing I must do?”. It really is that simple.

For example, you want start running, just put one foot in front of another. That’s all the next thing you have to do to get your results.

Let’s take an example that one of your goals is to write a book. How will this process work:

what’s the next thing I have to doGet an idea for the book
To get an idea for the book what’s the next thing I have to doWake up early to brainstorm ideas
Once I have my ideas, what’s the next thing I have to doWrite consistently every day for 1 hour
And so on..
What’s the next thing?

You get the idea, right?

The fact is our brain is very smart. Our brain is programmed to give us answers, no mater what questions we ask. If we ask ourselves, why do I always get stuck in traffic- we will receive an answer. The answer may be -you are unlucky.

If we ask ourselves, now that I am stuck in traffic, what can I do, we will receive an answer. The answer may be – you can listen to your favorite radio station longer.

You can see for yourself, which is the better answer.

The answer changed only because you asked the right question.

Leave a comment