When did the Letters Stop

Some days back, when I was cleaning up the junk from another era (my college days), I came across an entire stack of letters and cards sent by friends while I was in Hyderabad. I am just wondering when did those letters and cards stop? The last birthday card I received was in.. (i dont remember)..perhaps a couple of years after my marriage from Anand and/or Amma-Appa (both mine and A’s). But it has been ages since I received a card from a friend. And worst part I did not even realize that the letters and cards had stopped till recently.

What does this mean?  That the friendship of those years has no value? It cannot be that because at that time, it was very special. And today too those friendships have special place. I cannot forget the Jumpackers, our 84 journeys, the Trivandrum Pharmacy trip and the budding romance between two of my best friends.

Now these best friends are married (happily to each other) and have two boys of their own. How often do we meet? Rarer than rare. Is it good? No. But perhaps it is practical. Everyone is busy, everyone has commitments. And often family comes first when there is limited time to be allocated. Perhaps thats why distances do creep in…. Sad, but true.

What particularly set me thinking was a letter from J. We were the best of friends, but now we are no more than strangers. We hardly ever talk. She is busy executive, travelling the world over and I am a busier mom, ferrying my kids here and there. In a way, thank God for Facebook. I at least know whats happening in everyone’s lives. FB kind of helps me take away the pain that letters no longer arrive.

But I just cant help wondering when and why did those letters stop?

Leave a Reply

