My Bags are all Packed…..

One of my favorite songs. I think it is “All my bags are packed, I am ready to go”… the title of the song is ‘leaving on a jet plane’. I don’t know who it is by, but will soon find out and post the link in this blog. It is at times like this that I wonder where we would all be without the ‘aashirwaad’ of Google over our heads.

This song incidentally featured in the Bruce Willis movie ‘Armaggadon’ (not sure of the spelling), where a bunch of guys went to drill a hole in space (or something like that). The reason the song is my favorite is because it is one of the few songs Anand knows and can sing. I always ask him to oblige at family gatherings, but he always refuses. Will try again at Kunju’s mehendi/marriage.

This song is apt right now because indeed  “all my bags are packed and I am ready to go”. It is 4.00 right now and waiting till 8.00 for the taxi is going 2 b difficult.

Yes. One can be over-organized and over well-prepared as we are. I am going crazy trying to figure out if i have missed packing anything and packing and repacking again and again just so I have something to do. Perhaps, it is best after all to leave things till the last minute. It is more exciting that way and things are ‘happening’ till the very end. But then again…..it is better this way I guess. Because in the former scenario, I would surely not had the time to write this post. So lucky you guys, I finished early and you can read these pearls of wisdom (hopefully).

Kids are super duper exited and have not slept a wink in the afternoon. Wonder how we are going to handle them at the airport. Our flight for Hongkong  (or Honkon, as Abhinav says) leaves at 1:05 a.m tomorrow. We will land up at the airport by 9:30-10:00pm tonite.  So you can well imagine the task of managing kids and adults as well, sleep deprived to the eyelids. Will be quite an experience and material for the next post.

And one more thing. We have one bag each and though we are allowed 20kg/bag, our bags on an average

weigh 10 kg. This is a strategic decision so that we can shop more. Currently requests for shopping are being taken. Anybody looking for anything specific from good old Uncle Sam, just ‘bring it on’.

Thanks mom, dad and Prabha for making yesterday so special and converting it into a pre-deparure party almost. Ramesh and Radha, you were missed. All eats from Trivandrum are lovely and also making the long and arduous journey to San Francisco, albeit without ticket and visa. In fact. my mother-in-law’s hand baggage is full of murukhu, chips, oreo, and so on…and to my credit, I have that digestive fibre biscuits (Prabha, the ones u gave) and diet chakli. The final bastion of sticking to a diet before drowning in the depths of delicious delicacies..all waste to the waist…

On that yummy note, it is goodbye for now. Hopefully things will go well. Next post mostly from San Farncisco, but u may receive an email from Honkon….

Goodbye. God Blesss

PS the song is by John Denver and can be downloaded/heard/lyrics seen at

http://www.elyrics.net/read/j/john-denver-lyrics/leaving-on-a-jet-plane-lyrics.html

Enjoy

3 thoughts on “My Bags are all Packed…..

  1. very interesting read, rashma.
    keep it up. I will miss my wonderful grand kids, very much.
    Have a wonderful holiday.
    Amma

Leave a Reply

